MLB Baseball
Scoreboard | Matchups | Stats | Standings | Teams | Players | Player News | Injuries | Transactions
#41
David Hess
ERA W-L K
4.88 3-10 74
Team: BaltimoreHt / Wt: 6-2 / 180
Position: SPBorn: 7/10/1993 Birthplace: Tullahoma, Tennessee
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 5th Round by Orioles (2014)


Latest News
Sep. 28 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-David Hess allowed one run on three hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Houston Astros 2-1 on Friday. Hess struck out four, ending the game with a 4.88 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 22 5:09 PM PT6:09 PM MT7:09 PM CT8:09 PM ET20:09 ET0:09 GMT8:09 5:09 PM MST7:09 PM EST6:09 PM CST7:39 PM VEN4:09 UAE (+1)7:09 PM CT-David Hess allowed two runs on four hits and four walks in 5.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Yankees 3-2 on Saturday. Hess struck out five, ending the game with a 5.14 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 16 1:39 PM PT2:39 PM MT3:39 PM CT4:39 PM ET16:39 ET20:39 GMT4:39 1:39 PM MST3:39 PM EST2:39 PM CST4:09 PM VEN0:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-David Hess allowed four runs - three earned - on six hits and one walk in 4.1 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Chicago White Sox 8-4 on Sunday. Hess struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.22 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 8 6:13 PM PT7:13 PM MT8:13 PM CT9:13 PM ET21:13 ET1:13 GMT9:13 6:13 PM MST8:13 PM EST7:13 PM CST8:43 PM VEN5:13 UAE (+1)8:13 PM CT-David Hess fell to 3-10, allowing six runs - two earned - on seven hits in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 10-5 on Saturday. Hess struck out three, ending the game with a 5.17 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 7 4:28 PM PT5:28 PM MT6:28 PM CT7:28 PM ET19:28 ET23:28 GMT7:28 4:28 PM MST6:28 PM EST5:28 PM CST6:58 PM VEN3:28 UAE (+1)6:28 PM CT-Hess might miss a scheduled start after being hit in the eye while playing catch with a football. Hess was tossing the ball with teammates before Friday night's game against Tampa Bay at Tropicana Field. He was taken to a specialist for an examination of his left eye. Baltimore manager Buck Showalter didn't rule out Hess missing his start Saturday night against the Rays.
Analysis: Hess is 3-9 with a 5.27 ERA in 17 games.
Sep. 2 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST3:07 PM CST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-David Hess fell to 3-9, allowing five runs - four earned - on nine hits in 4.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Kansas City Royals 9-1 on Sunday. Hess struck out three, ending the game with a 5.27 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 27 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST8:02 PM CST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)9:02 PM CT-David Hess improved to 3-8, allowing four hits and two walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-0 on Monday. Hess struck out five, ending the game with a 5.08 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 22 12:17 PM PT1:17 PM MT2:17 PM CT3:17 PM ET15:17 ET19:17 GMT3:17 12:17 PM MST2:17 PM EST1:17 PM CST2:47 PM VEN23:17 UAE2:17 PM CT-David Hess fell to 2-8, allowing one run on three hits in 7.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 6-0 on Wednesday. Hess struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.50 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 17 6:51 PM PT7:51 PM MT8:51 PM CT9:51 PM ET21:51 ET1:51 GMT9:51 6:51 PM MST8:51 PM EST7:51 PM CST9:21 PM VEN5:51 UAE (+1)8:51 PM CT-David Hess fell to 2-7, allowing two runs on five hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Cleveland Indians 2-1 on Friday. Hess struck out three, ending the game with a 5.95 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 6:52 PM PT7:52 PM MT8:52 PM CT9:52 PM ET21:52 ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST8:52 PM EST7:52 PM CST9:22 PM VEN5:52 UAE (+1)8:52 PM CT-David Hess allowed three runs on four hits and three walks in 5.2 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-4 on Thursday. Hess struck out three, ending the game with a 6.25 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST9:17 PM CST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)10:17 PM CT-David Hess fell to 2-6, allowing seven runs - five earned - on five hits and one walk in 3.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Texas Rangers 11-3 on Friday. Hess struck out four, ending the game with a 6.41 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
July 28 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-David Hess did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 11-2 on Saturday. Hess struck out one, ending the game with a 5.94 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
July 4 4:09 PM PT5:09 PM MT6:09 PM CT7:09 PM ET19:09 ET23:09 GMT7:09 4:09 PM MST6:09 PM EST5:09 PM CST6:39 PM VEN3:09 UAE (+1)6:09 PM CT-David Hess allowed two runs on two hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 4-1 on Wednesday. Hess struck out three, ending the game with a 6.06 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
June 29 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST8:05 PM CST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-David Hess fell to 2-5, allowing six runs on nine hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Los Angeles Angels 7-1 on Friday. Hess struck out two, ending the game with a 5.94 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
June 24 1:33 PM PT2:33 PM MT3:33 PM CT4:33 PM ET16:33 ET20:33 GMT4:33 1:33 PM MST3:33 PM EST2:33 PM CST4:03 PM VEN0:33 UAE (+1)3:33 PM CT-David Hess fell to 2-4, allowing five runs on seven hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Atlanta Braves 7-3 on Sunday. Hess struck out four, ending the game with a 5.44 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
June 19 7:14 PM PT8:14 PM MT9:14 PM CT10:14 PM ET22:14 ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST9:14 PM EST8:14 PM CST9:44 PM VEN6:14 UAE (+1)9:14 PM CT-David Hess allowed five runs on five hits and three walks in 4.2 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Washington Nationals 9-7 on Tuesday. Hess struck out two, ending the game with a 4.82 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
June 12 8:10 PM PT9:10 PM MT10:10 PM CT11:10 PM ET23:10 ET3:10 GMT11:10 8:10 PM MST10:10 PM EST9:10 PM CST10:40 PM VEN7:10 UAE (+1)10:10 PM CT-David Hess fell to 2-3, allowing five runs on five hits and four walks in 3.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Boston Red Sox 6-4 on Tuesday. Hess struck out two, ending the game with a 4.13 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
June 7 7:25 PM PT8:25 PM MT9:25 PM CT10:25 PM ET22:25 ET2:25 GMT10:25 7:25 PM MST9:25 PM EST8:25 PM CST9:55 PM VEN6:25 UAE (+1)9:25 PM CT-David Hess allowed one run on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 5-4 on Thursday. Hess struck out four, ending the game with a 3.07 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
May 30 6:45 PM PT7:45 PM MT8:45 PM CT9:45 PM ET21:45 ET1:45 GMT9:45 6:45 PM MST8:45 PM EST7:45 PM CST9:15 PM VEN5:45 UAE (+1)8:45 PM CT-David Hess fell to 2-2, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Washington Nationals 2-0 on Wednesday. Hess struck out two, ending the game with a 3.47 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
May 25 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST7:59 PM CST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-David Hess improved to 2-1, allowing four hits and three walks over 6.2 scoreless innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 2-0 on Friday. Hess struck out three, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Both of his wins have come against Tampa Bay.
May 20 1:35 PM PT2:35 PM MT3:35 PM CT4:35 PM ET16:35 ET20:35 GMT4:35 1:35 PM MST3:35 PM EST2:35 PM CST4:05 PM VEN0:35 UAE (+1)3:35 PM CT-David Hess fell to 1-1, allowing five runs on eight hits and two walks in 4.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Boston Red Sox 5-0 on Sunday. Hess struck out four, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
May 12 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST3:39 PM CST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-David Hess improved to 1-0, allowing three runs on six hits in 6.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 6-3 on Saturday. Hess struck out three, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 Bal 3 10 0 - 0 21 19 0 103.1 106 64 56 22 37 2 74 1.38 4.88
Career 3 10 0 - 0 21 19 0 103.1 106 64 56 22 37 2 74 1.38 4.88

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2018 Bal 21 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .000 .333 .000
Career 21 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .000 .333 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1030 95 88 91.9 58.79
Curveball 130 76 68 72.2 7.42
Slider 435 84 76 80 24.83
Changeup 157 88 80 83.7 8.96

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.