MLB Baseball
Scoreboard | Matchups | Stats | Standings | Teams | Players | Player News | Injuries | Transactions
#31
Caleb Smith
ERA W-L K
4.19 5-6 88
Team: MiamiHt / Wt: 6-2 / 205
Position: SPBorn: 7/28/1991 Birthplace: Huntsville, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: -


Latest News
June 26 10:24 AM PT11:24 AM MT12:24 PM CT1:24 PM ET13:24 ET17:24 GMT1:24 10:24 AM MST12:24 PM EST11:24 AM CST12:54 PM VEN21:24 UAE12:24 PM CT-Smith has been placed on the DL with a Grade 3 left lat strain and is likely done for the season.
Analysis: Smith wasn't exactly fantasy relevant, but was enjoying an encouraging rookie season, going 5-6 with a 4.19 ERA and 1.24 WHIP with 88 strikeouts in 77 1/3 innings.
June 24 4:58 PM PT5:58 PM MT6:58 PM CT7:58 PM ET19:58 ET23:58 GMT7:58 4:58 PM MST6:58 PM EST5:58 PM CST7:28 PM VEN3:58 UAE (+1)6:58 PM CT-Caleb Smith allowed two runs on one hit and one walk in 1.1 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Colorado Rockies 8-5 on Sunday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 4.19 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
June 19 10:06 PM PT11:06 PM MT12:06 AM CT1:06 AM ET1:06 ET5:06 GMT13:06 10:06 PM MST12:06 AM EST11:06 PM CST12:36 AM VEN9:06 UAE12:06 AM CT-Caleb Smith allowed four runs on six hits and two walks in 4.0 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the San Francisco Giants 5-4 on Monday. Smith struck out four, ending the game with a 4.03 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
June 14 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET21:36 GMT5:36 2:36 PM MST4:36 PM EST3:36 PM CST5:06 PM VEN1:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-Smith was reinstated from the bereavement list Monday and will start in San Francisco.
Analysis: The left-hander has gone 3-1 with a 3.07 ERA in his last five starts. His last one also came against the Giants on Wednesday, when Smith allowed three runs on eight hits in 6.1 innings.
June 13 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Caleb Smith allowed three runs on eight hits in 6.1 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the San Francisco Giants 5-4 on Wednesday. Smith struck out four, ending the game with a 3.75 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
June 8 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Caleb Smith improved to 5-6, allowing four hits and two walks over 5.1 scoreless innings, as the Miami Marlins defeated the San Diego Padres 4-0 on Friday. Smith struck out five, ending the game with a 3.70 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
June 3 10:15 PM PT11:15 PM MT12:15 AM CT1:15 AM ET1:15 ET5:15 GMT13:15 10:15 PM MST12:15 AM EST11:15 PM CST12:45 AM VEN9:15 UAE12:15 AM CT-Caleb Smith fell to 4-6, allowing five runs on five hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-2 on Saturday. Smith struck out five, ending the game with a 4.03 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
May 28 4:03 PM PT5:03 PM MT6:03 PM CT7:03 PM ET19:03 ET23:03 GMT7:03 4:03 PM MST6:03 PM EST5:03 PM CST6:33 PM VEN3:03 UAE (+1)6:03 PM CT-Caleb Smith improved to 4-5, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins defeated the San Diego Padres 7-2 on Monday. Smith struck out four, ending the game with a 3.51 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
May 22 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Caleb Smith improved to 3-5, allowing one run on three hits and two walks in 6.2 innings, as the Miami Marlins defeated the New York Mets 5-1 on Tuesday. Smith struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.83 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Smith leads major league rookies with 65 strikeouts. He has permitted no more than two earned runs in five of his last six starts.
May 17 12:20 PM PT1:20 PM MT2:20 PM CT3:20 PM ET15:20 ET19:20 GMT3:20 12:20 PM MST2:20 PM EST1:20 PM CST2:50 PM VEN23:20 UAE2:20 PM CT-Caleb Smith fell to 2-5, allowing four runs on two hits and four walks in 3.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 7-0 on Thursday. Smith struck out four, ending the game with a 4.22 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
May 10 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Caleb Smith fell to 2-4, allowing two runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Atlanta Braves 9-2 on Thursday. Smith struck out five, ending the game with a 3.63 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
May 5 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST8:04 PM CST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)9:04 PM CT-Caleb Smith improved to 2-3, allowing three hits and one walk over 5.2 scoreless innings, as the Miami Marlins defeated the Cincinnati Reds 6-0 on Saturday. Smith struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.67 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The left-hander has been stingy in his last three starts, allowing only two runs and seven hits in 18 2/3 innings with 26 strikeouts.
Apr. 29 12:41 PM PT1:41 PM MT2:41 PM CT3:41 PM ET15:41 ET19:41 GMT3:41 12:41 PM MST2:41 PM EST1:41 PM CST3:11 PM VEN23:41 UAE2:41 PM CT-Caleb Smith improved to 1-3, allowing two hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Miami Marlins defeated the Colorado Rockies 3-0 on Sunday. Smith struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 1:56 PM PT2:56 PM MT3:56 PM CT4:56 PM ET16:56 ET20:56 GMT4:56 1:56 PM MST3:56 PM EST2:56 PM CST4:26 PM VEN0:56 UAE (+1)3:56 PM CT-Caleb Smith fell to 0-3, allowing two runs on two hits in 6.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 4-2 on Sunday. Smith struck out 10, ending the game with a 5.82 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST8:20 PM CST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)9:20 PM CT-Caleb Smith fell to 0-2, allowing five runs on five hits and five walks in 2.1 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the New York Yankees 12-1 on Monday. Smith struck out three, ending the game with a 6.89 ERA and 1.98 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)9:12 PM CT-Caleb Smith allowed three runs on five hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the New York Mets 8-6 on Tuesday. Smith struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.73 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 5 3:18 PM PT4:18 PM MT5:18 PM CT6:18 PM ET18:18 ET22:18 GMT6:18 3:18 PM MST5:18 PM EST4:18 PM CST5:48 PM VEN2:18 UAE (+1)5:18 PM CT-Caleb Smith fell to 0-1, allowing three runs on two hits and six walks in 3.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 5-0 on Thursday. Smith struck out four, ending the game with a 4.32 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 9:35 PM PT10:35 PM MT11:35 PM CT12:35 AM ET0:35 ET4:35 GMT12:35 9:35 PM MST11:35 PM EST10:35 PM CST12:05 AM VEN8:35 UAE11:35 PM CT-Caleb Smith allowed one run on four hits and three walks in 5.1 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Chicago Cubs 2-1 on Friday. Smith struck out eight, ending the game with a 1.69 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2017 NYY 0 1 0 - 0 9 2 0 18.2 21 16 16 4 10 1 18 1.66 7.71
2018 Mia 5 6 0 - 0 16 16 0 77.1 63 36 36 10 33 2 88 1.24 4.19
Career 5 7 0 - 0 25 18 0 96.0 84 52 52 14 43 3 106 1.32 4.88

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2018 Mia 16 22 0 3 0 0 0 1 0 13 0 0 .136 .136 .136
Career 25 22 0 3 0 0 0 1 0 13 0 0 .136 .136 .136


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 822 95 89 92.8 59.01
Slider 380 85 78 81.5 27.28
Changeup 191 87 82 84 13.71

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.