FreePlays.com Account Login | Need an account?
FreePlays.com
MLB Baseball
Scoreboard | Matchups | Stats | Standings | Teams | Players | Player News | Injuries | Transactions
#22
Jason Heyward
AVG HR RBI
.258 6 29
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-5 / 240 NFBC ADP: 269.51
Position: RFBorn: 8/9/1989 Birthplace: Ridgewood, New Jersey
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by Braves (2007)


Latest News
June 22 9:45 AM PT10:45 AM MT11:45 AM CT12:45 PM ET12:45 ET16:45 GMT0:45 9:45 AM MST11:45 AM EST12:15 PM VEN20:45 UAE11:45 AM CT-Heyward has been placed on the 10-day disabled list with a left hand abrasion.
Analysis: Heyward sustained the injury attempting to catch a foul ball in Sunday's game at Pittsburgh and sat out the Cubs' entire three-game series with San Diego as a result. The injury isn't considered a long-term issue, so he should be activated when first eligible.
June 20 12:28 PM PT1:28 PM MT2:28 PM CT3:28 PM ET15:28 ET19:28 GMT3:28 12:28 PM MST2:28 PM EST2:58 PM VEN23:28 UAE2:28 PM CT-Heyward will sit out a third straight game on Wednesday due to a left hand abrasion.
Analysis: Heyward has yet to play since exiting Sunday's game at Pittsburgh after injuring his throwing hand trying to catch a foul ball down the right-field line and remains day to day. Kris Bryant will shift to right field for Wednesday's matchup with the Padres with Tommy La Stella slotted in at third base.
June 18 3:52 PM PT4:52 PM MT5:52 PM CT6:52 PM ET18:52 ET22:52 GMT6:52 3:52 PM MST5:52 PM EST6:22 PM VEN2:52 UAE (+1)5:52 PM CT-Jason Heyward went 0 for 2 before leaving the Cubs' 7-1 win over the Pirates in the fourth inning with a left hand abrasion Sunday. He ended the game with a .258 batting average.
Analysis: Heyward was hurt trying to catch a foul ball down the right-field line in the second inning and had one more at-bat before exiting. Though the injury doesn't appear overly serious, he wasn't in the lineup for Monday's game against San Diego.
June 18 2:19 PM PT3:19 PM MT4:19 PM CT5:19 PM ET17:19 ET21:19 GMT5:19 2:19 PM MST4:19 PM EST4:49 PM VEN1:19 UAE (+1)4:19 PM CT-Heyward exited in the fourth inning Sunday with a left hand abrasion.
Analysis: Heyward injured himself attempting to play a ball in foul territory in the second. He attempted to stay in the game after getting it taped up and popped out at the plate in the third.
June 18 10:55 PM PT11:55 PM MT12:55 AM CT1:55 AM ET1:55 ET5:55 GMT13:55 10:55 PM MST12:55 AM EST1:25 AM VEN9:55 UAE12:55 AM CT-Jason Heyward went 1 for 4 Saturday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-3. He ended the game with a .260 batting average.
June 16 8:37 PM PT9:37 PM MT10:37 PM CT11:37 PM ET23:37 ET3:37 GMT11:37 8:37 PM MST10:37 PM EST11:07 PM VEN7:37 UAE (+1)10:37 PM CT-Jason Heyward went 1 for 4 with a double Friday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Pittsburgh Pirates 9-5. Heyward scored twice. He ended the game with a .260 batting average.
June 15 10:16 AM PT11:16 AM MT12:16 PM CT1:16 PM ET13:16 ET17:16 GMT1:16 10:16 AM MST12:16 PM EST12:46 PM VEN21:16 UAE12:16 PM CT-Jason Heyward went 0 for 1 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the New York Mets 9-4. He ended the game with a .261 batting average.
June 14 8:25 AM PT9:25 AM MT10:25 AM CT11:25 AM ET11:25 ET15:25 GMT23:25 8:25 AM MST10:25 AM EST10:55 AM VEN19:25 UAE10:25 AM CT-Jason Heyward went 2 for 5 with a home run and two RBIs Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs beat the New York Mets 14-3. The homer was his sixth of the season. Heyward scored twice. He ended the game with a .262 batting average.
Analysis: Heyward had been just 5 for 23 (.217) with no extra base hits in his previous six games. He's 2 for 9 with a homer lifetime off Wednesday's starter Matt Harvey.
June 12 6:51 PM PT7:51 PM MT8:51 PM CT9:51 PM ET21:51 ET1:51 GMT9:51 6:51 PM MST8:51 PM EST9:21 PM VEN5:51 UAE (+1)8:51 PM CT-Jason Heyward went 1 for 3 Monday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the New York Mets 6-1. He ended the game with a .258 batting average.
June 11 5:17 PM PT6:17 PM MT7:17 PM CT8:17 PM ET20:17 ET0:17 GMT8:17 5:17 PM MST7:17 PM EST7:47 PM VEN4:17 UAE (+1)7:17 PM CT-Jason Heyward went 1 for 4 Sunday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Colorado Rockies 7-5. He ended the game with a .257 batting average.
June 10 2:42 PM PT3:42 PM MT4:42 PM CT5:42 PM ET17:42 ET21:42 GMT5:42 2:42 PM MST4:42 PM EST5:12 PM VEN1:42 UAE (+1)4:42 PM CT-Jason Heyward went 1 for 4 Saturday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Colorado Rockies 9-1. Heyward scored once. He ended the game with a .257 batting average.
June 9 3:13 PM PT4:13 PM MT5:13 PM CT6:13 PM ET18:13 ET22:13 GMT6:13 3:13 PM MST5:13 PM EST5:43 PM VEN2:13 UAE (+1)5:13 PM CT-Jason Heyward went 1 for 3 with two RBIs Friday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Colorado Rockies 5-3. He ended the game with a .257 batting average.
June 9 9:07 PM PT10:07 PM MT11:07 PM CT12:07 AM ET0:07 ET4:07 GMT12:07 9:07 PM MST11:07 PM EST11:37 PM VEN8:07 UAE11:07 PM CT-Jason Heyward went 0 for 4 Thursday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Colorado Rockies 4-1. He ended the game with a .256 batting average.
June 8 8:56 AM PT9:56 AM MT10:56 AM CT11:56 AM ET11:56 ET15:56 GMT23:56 8:56 AM MST10:56 AM EST11:26 AM VEN19:56 UAE10:56 AM CT-Jason Heyward went 1 for 5 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Miami Marlins 6-5. He ended the game with a .262 batting average.
June 7 9:40 AM PT10:40 AM MT11:40 AM CT12:40 PM ET12:40 ET16:40 GMT0:40 9:40 AM MST11:40 AM EST12:10 PM VEN20:40 UAE11:40 AM CT-Jason Heyward went 3 for 5 with two doubles and two RBIs Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Miami Marlins 10-2. Heyward scored once. He ended the game with a .264 batting average.
Analysis: In his last eight games, Heyward is batting .323 with four doubles and six RBIs.
June 5 8:56 PM PT9:56 PM MT10:56 PM CT11:56 PM ET23:56 ET3:56 GMT11:56 8:56 PM MST10:56 PM EST11:26 PM VEN7:56 UAE (+1)10:56 PM CT-Jason Heyward went 0 for 3 Monday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Miami Marlins 3-1. He ended the game with a .253 batting average.
June 5 9:47 AM PT10:47 AM MT11:47 AM CT12:47 PM ET12:47 ET16:47 GMT0:47 9:47 AM MST11:47 AM EST12:17 PM VEN20:47 UAE11:47 AM CT-Jason Heyward went 1 for 4 Sunday as the Chicago Cubs beat the St. Louis Cardinals 7-6. He ended the game with a .258 batting average.
Analysis: Heyward is 7 for 23 with two doubles in his last six games and has a favorable matchup Monday, as he's 4 for 8 against Miami's Dan Straily.
June 3 2:51 PM PT3:51 PM MT4:51 PM CT5:51 PM ET17:51 ET21:51 GMT5:51 2:51 PM MST4:51 PM EST5:21 PM VEN1:51 UAE (+1)4:51 PM CT-Jason Heyward went 1 for 4 Saturday as the Chicago Cubs beat the St. Louis Cardinals 5-3. Heyward scored once. He ended the game with a .259 batting average.
Analysis: Heyward is batting .316 against his former teams this season but is 0 for 6 against Michael Wacha, St. Louis' scheduled starter for Sunday.
June 2 2:33 PM PT3:33 PM MT4:33 PM CT5:33 PM ET17:33 ET21:33 GMT5:33 2:33 PM MST4:33 PM EST5:03 PM VEN1:33 UAE (+1)4:33 PM CT-Jason Heyward went 1 for 3 with a double and two RBIs Friday as the Chicago Cubs topped the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2. He ended the game with a .259 batting average.
Analysis: Heyward hit a tiebreaking sacrifice fly in the eighth inning. He has four RBIs in his last four games while going 5 for 15 with a pair of doubles.
May 31 4:01 PM PT5:01 PM MT6:01 PM CT7:01 PM ET19:01 ET23:01 GMT7:01 4:01 PM MST6:01 PM EST6:31 PM VEN3:01 UAE (+1)6:01 PM CT-Jason Heyward went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the San Diego Padres 2-1. He ended the game with a .257 batting average.
May 31 10:11 AM PT11:11 AM MT12:11 PM CT1:11 PM ET13:11 ET17:11 GMT1:11 10:11 AM MST12:11 PM EST12:41 PM VEN21:11 UAE12:11 PM CT-Jason Heyward went 2 for 4 with a double Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the San Diego Padres 6-2.
Analysis: Heyward has now recorded back-to-back two-hit games for the first time all season. His .265 average is the highest it's been since May 1.
May 30 11:32 AM PT12:32 PM MT1:32 PM CT2:32 PM ET14:32 ET18:32 GMT2:32 11:32 AM MST1:32 PM EST2:02 PM VEN22:32 UAE1:32 PM CT-Jason Heyward went 2 for 4 with two RBIs Monday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the San Diego Padres 5-2. He ended the game with a .258 batting average.
Analysis: Heyward, who notched his first multihit game since April 22, has hit safely in 11 of 12 contests in San Diego since 2013, racking up three homers, five doubles and two triples for a .388/.434/.755 slash line.
May 28 5:13 PM PT6:13 PM MT7:13 PM CT8:13 PM ET20:13 ET0:13 GMT8:13 5:13 PM MST7:13 PM EST7:43 PM VEN4:13 UAE (+1)7:13 PM CT-Jason Heyward went 1 for 5 Sunday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 9-4. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
May 28 7:48 AM PT8:48 AM MT9:48 AM CT10:48 AM ET10:48 ET14:48 GMT22:48 7:48 AM MST9:48 AM EST10:18 AM VEN18:48 UAE9:48 AM CT-Jason Heyward went 0 for 3 Saturday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-0. He ended the game with a .252 batting average.
May 27 8:32 AM PT9:32 AM MT10:32 AM CT11:32 AM ET11:32 ET15:32 GMT23:32 8:32 AM MST10:32 AM EST11:02 AM VEN19:32 UAE10:32 AM CT-Jason Heyward went 1 for 3 Friday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-0. He ended the game with a .258 batting average.
May 25 5:32 PM PT6:32 PM MT7:32 PM CT8:32 PM ET20:32 ET0:32 GMT8:32 5:32 PM MST7:32 PM EST8:02 PM VEN4:32 UAE (+1)7:32 PM CT-Jason Heyward went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Thursday as the Chicago Cubs beat the San Francisco Giants 5-1. The homer was his fifth of the season. He ended the game with a .256 batting average.
May 25 8:36 AM PT9:36 AM MT10:36 AM CT11:36 AM ET11:36 ET15:36 GMT23:36 8:36 AM MST10:36 AM EST11:06 AM VEN19:36 UAE10:36 AM CT-Jason Heyward went 1 for 4 with a triple Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the San Francisco Giants 5-4. Heyward scored once. He ended the game with a .257 batting average.
Analysis: Heyward has scored in all four games he's played since a DL stint for a sprained finger, and he has an extra-base hit in three of them.
May 23 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Jason Heyward went 1 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs beat the San Francisco Giants 4-1. The homer was his fourth of the season. He ended the game with a .257 batting average.
May 23 7:15 AM PT8:15 AM MT9:15 AM CT10:15 AM ET10:15 ET14:15 GMT22:15 7:15 AM MST9:15 AM EST9:45 AM VEN18:15 UAE9:15 AM CT-Jason Heyward went 1 for 4 Monday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the San Francisco Giants 6-4. Heyward scored once. He ended the game with a .255 batting average.
May 21 6:52 PM PT7:52 PM MT8:52 PM CT9:52 PM ET21:52 ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST8:52 PM EST9:22 PM VEN5:52 UAE (+1)8:52 PM CT-Jason Heyward went 1 for 3 with a double Sunday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Milwaukee Brewers 13-6. Heyward scored once. He ended the game with a .255 batting average.
Analysis: Heyward was taken off the DL before the game.
May 6 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Heyward was activated from the 10-day DL on Saturday after missing two weeks a sprained right finger.
Analysis: Heyward's rehab assignment with Class A South Bend lasted only one game, going 1 for 3 on Thursday before rejoining the Cubs on Friday. Heyward is batting .253 with three homers and 17 RBIs in 28 games.
May 5 3:25 PM PT4:25 PM MT5:25 PM CT6:25 PM ET18:25 ET22:25 GMT6:25 3:25 PM MST5:25 PM EST5:55 PM VEN2:25 UAE (+1)5:25 PM CT-Jason Heyward went 0 for 4 Friday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the New York Yankees 3-2. He ended the game with a .253 batting average.
Analysis: Heyward is just 1 for 13 over his last five games.
May 4 10:40 PM PT11:40 PM MT12:40 AM CT1:40 AM ET1:40 ET5:40 GMT13:40 10:40 PM MST12:40 AM EST1:10 AM VEN9:40 UAE12:40 AM CT-Jason Heyward went 1 for 3 with an RBI Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4. Heyward scored twice. He ended the game with a .263 batting average.
May 3 11:10 PM PT12:10 AM MT1:10 AM CT2:10 AM ET2:10 ET6:10 GMT14:10 11:10 PM MST1:10 AM EST1:40 AM VEN10:10 UAE1:10 AM CT-Jason Heyward went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Philadelphia Phillies 8-3. He ended the game with a .261 batting average.
Analysis: Heyward has cooled off, going 4 for 24 without an extra-base hit, RBI or run in his last seven games.
May 2 10:11 PM PT11:11 PM MT12:11 AM CT1:11 AM ET1:11 ET5:11 GMT13:11 10:11 PM MST12:11 AM EST12:41 AM VEN9:11 UAE12:11 AM CT-Jason Heyward went 0 for 3 Monday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Philadelphia Phillies 10-2. He ended the game with a .270 batting average.
Analysis: The Cubs face Phillies right-hander Jeremy Hellickson on Tuesday, and Heyward is batting .304 while slugging .464 against righties compared to .150 without an extra-base hit against lefties.
May 1 6:42 AM PT7:42 AM MT8:42 AM CT9:42 AM ET9:42 ET13:42 GMT21:42 6:42 AM MST8:42 AM EST9:12 AM VEN17:42 UAE8:42 AM CT-Jason Heyward went 1 for 4 Sunday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Boston Red Sox 6-2. He ended the game with a .279 batting average.
Apr. 29 5:10 PM PT6:10 PM MT7:10 PM CT8:10 PM ET20:10 ET0:10 GMT8:10 5:10 PM MST7:10 PM EST7:40 PM VEN4:10 UAE (+1)7:10 PM CT-Jason Heyward went 1 for 4 Saturday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Boston Red Sox 7-4. He ended the game with a .280 batting average.
Apr. 29 11:47 PM PT12:47 AM MT1:47 AM CT2:47 AM ET2:47 ET6:47 GMT14:47 11:47 PM MST1:47 AM EST2:17 AM VEN10:47 UAE1:47 AM CT-Jason Heyward went 1 for 4 Friday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Boston Red Sox 5-4. He ended the game with a .282 batting average.
Apr. 24 8:42 PM PT9:42 PM MT10:42 PM CT11:42 PM ET23:42 ET3:42 GMT11:42 8:42 PM MST10:42 PM EST11:12 PM VEN7:42 UAE (+1)10:42 PM CT-Heyward homered for the third time in four games and drove in four runs as the Chicago Cubs jumped on the Pittsburgh Pirates early in a 14-3 victory on Monday night.
Analysis: Heyward, who didn't hit his third homer of 2016 until June 6, has 11 RBIs in the last four games - all on the road. He is hitting .316 with 15 RBIs in nine road games this season, however, he is just 3 for 20 lifetime against Gerrit Cole, Pittsburgh's scheduled starter for Tuesday.
Apr. 23 2:32 PM PT3:32 PM MT4:32 PM CT5:32 PM ET17:32 ET21:32 GMT5:32 2:32 PM MST4:32 PM EST5:02 PM VEN1:32 UAE (+1)4:32 PM CT-Heyward knocked in two more runs while finishing 1 for 4 in Sunday's loss at Cincinnati.
Analysis: Heyward ended the three-game series 4 for 13 with two homers, seven RBIs and three runs scored, and he's hitting a very respectable .297 through his first 17 games. Though still a small sample size, the high-priced outfielder seems on the way towards atoning for last year's disappointing season.
Apr. 22 2:09 PM PT3:09 PM MT4:09 PM CT5:09 PM ET17:09 ET21:09 GMT5:09 2:09 PM MST4:09 PM EST4:39 PM VEN1:09 UAE (+1)4:09 PM CT-Heyward went 2 for 4 with a homer and four RBIs in the Cubs' 12-8 win over the Reds on Saturday.
Analysis: Heyward is hitting .300 and has homered in back-to-back games for the first time as a Cub.
Apr. 19 9:03 PM PT10:03 PM MT11:03 PM CT12:03 AM ET0:03 ET4:03 GMT12:03 9:03 PM MST11:03 PM EST11:33 PM VEN8:03 UAE11:03 PM CT-Heyward had two hits Tuesday against Milwaukee and has hit safely in seven straight games.
Analysis: Heyward is batting .300 (15 for 50) after 13 games this season. He hit .188 (9 for 48) at that point last season.
Apr. 17 10:47 AM PT11:47 AM MT12:47 PM CT1:47 PM ET13:47 ET17:47 GMT1:47 10:47 AM MST12:47 PM EST1:17 PM VEN21:47 UAE12:47 PM CT-Heyward went 1 for 4 and scored the Cubs' lone run in Sunday's 6-1 loss to Pittsburgh.
Analysis: After having a tough time adjusting during his first season in Chicago, Heyward has been among the Cubs' steadiest hitters thus far in 2017. The high-priced outfielder has hit safely in 10 of his 11 games, producing a .286 average and five RBIs.
Apr. 9 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Heyward went 3 for 5 with a triple and two RBIs in the Cubs' 7-4 win over the Brewers on Sunday.
Analysis: Heyward has hit safely in his first five games of 2017, so maybe there's something to salvage from that contract after all.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Atl 142 520 83 144 29 5 18 72 91 128 11 6 .277 .393 .456
2011 Atl 128 396 50 90 18 2 14 42 51 93 9 2 .227 .319 .389
2012 Atl 158 587 93 158 30 6 27 82 58 152 21 8 .269 .335 .479
2013 Atl 104 382 67 97 22 1 14 38 48 73 2 4 .254 .349 .427
2014 Atl 149 573 74 155 26 3 11 58 67 98 20 4 .271 .351 .384
2015 StL 154 547 79 160 33 4 13 60 56 90 23 3 .293 .359 .439
2016 ChC 142 530 61 122 27 1 7 49 54 93 11 4 .230 .306 .325
2017 ChC 55 198 24 51 6 2 6 29 15 31 1 2 .258 .315 .399
Career 1032 3733 531 977 191 24 110 430 440 758 98 33 .262 .344 .414

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Atl Total 4 16 0 2 0 0 0 0 1 8 0 0 .125 .176 .125
    LDS 4 16 0 2 0 0 0 0 1 8 0 0 .125 .176 .125
2012 Atl Total 1 5 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .200 .200 .400
    WC 1 5 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .200 .200 .400
2013 Atl Total 4 18 1 3 0 0 1 4 0 7 0 0 .167 .167 .333
    LDS 4 18 1 3 0 0 1 4 0 7 0 0 .167 .167 .333
2015 StL Total 4 14 2 5 1 0 1 2 2 2 0 0 .357 .438 .643
    LDS 4 14 2 5 1 0 1 2 2 2 0 0 .357 .438 .643
2016 ChC Total 16 48 4 5 1 1 0 1 1 13 4 0 .104 .140 .167
    LDS 4 12 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .083 .083 .167
    LCS 6 16 2 1 0 1 0 1 1 5 0 0 .063 .167 .188
    WS 6 20 0 3 0 0 0 0 0 5 4 0 .150 .150 .150
Career 29 101 7 16 3 1 2 7 4 31 4 0 .158 .198 .267


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.