FreePlays.com Account Login | Need an account?
FreePlays.com
MLB Baseball
Scoreboard | Matchups | Stats | Standings | Teams | Players | Player News | Injuries | Transactions
#53
Zach Britton
ERA S K
2.89 15 29
Team: BaltimoreHt / Wt: 6-3 / 195 NFBC ADP: 58.61
Position: RPBorn: 12/22/1987 Birthplace: Panorama City, California
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 3rd Round by Orioles (2006)


Latest News
Sep. 20 4:42 PM PT5:42 PM MT6:42 PM CT7:42 PM ET19:42 ET23:42 GMT7:42 4:42 PM MST6:42 PM EST7:12 PM VEN3:42 UAE (+1)6:42 PM CT-Britton will undergo a stem-cell procedure on his ailing left knee on Friday.
Analysis: Britton did pitch on back-to-back days earlier this week but hasn't appeared in a game since Monday. With the Orioles a longshot to earn a wild-card berth, it's looking increasingly likely the standout closer will be shut down for the rest of the season.
Sep. 18 8:52 PM PT9:52 PM MT10:52 PM CT11:52 PM ET23:52 ET3:52 GMT11:52 8:52 PM MST10:52 PM EST11:22 PM VEN7:52 UAE (+1)10:52 PM CT-Zach Britton walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Boston Red Sox 10-8 on Monday. Britton struck out two, ending the game with a 2.89 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 18 12:14 AM PT1:14 AM MT2:14 AM CT3:14 AM ET3:14 ET7:14 GMT15:14 12:14 AM MST2:14 AM EST2:44 AM VEN11:14 UAE2:14 AM CT-Zach Britton recorded his 15th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the New York Yankees 6-4 on Sunday. Britton struck out two, ending the game with a 2.97 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 14 7:38 AM PT8:38 AM MT9:38 AM CT10:38 AM ET10:38 ET14:38 GMT22:38 7:38 AM MST9:38 AM EST10:08 AM VEN18:38 UAE9:38 AM CT-Zach Britton recorded his 14th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 2-1 on Wednesday. Britton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.09 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 12 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Zach Britton fell to 2-1, allowing two runs on three hits and one walk in 0.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 3-2 on Tuesday. Britton struck out one, ending the game with a 3.18 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Britton blew his first save since Sept. 20, 2015 on Aug. 23 to end an AL-record streak of 60 consecutive conversions. He then went 1-0 with two saves in six scoreless appearances before blowing another save Tuesday.
Sep. 11 8:29 AM PT9:29 AM MT10:29 AM CT11:29 AM ET11:29 ET15:29 GMT23:29 8:29 AM MST10:29 AM EST10:59 AM VEN19:29 UAE10:29 AM CT-Zach Britton did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Cleveland Indians 3-2 on Sunday. Britton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 6 8:03 AM PT9:03 AM MT10:03 AM CT11:03 AM ET11:03 ET15:03 GMT23:03 8:03 AM MST10:03 AM EST10:33 AM VEN19:03 UAE10:03 AM CT-Zach Britton improved to 2-0, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the New York Yankees 7-6 on Tuesday. Britton struck out two, ending the game with a 2.78 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 3 4:19 PM PT5:19 PM MT6:19 PM CT7:19 PM ET19:19 ET23:19 GMT7:19 4:19 PM MST6:19 PM EST6:49 PM VEN3:19 UAE (+1)6:19 PM CT-Zach Britton allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 5-4 on Sunday. Britton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.87 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 2 10:49 PM PT11:49 PM MT12:49 AM CT1:49 AM ET1:49 ET5:49 GMT13:49 10:49 PM MST12:49 AM EST1:19 AM VEN9:49 UAE12:49 AM CT-Zach Britton allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 1-0 on Friday. Britton struck out one, ending the game with a 3.07 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: As expected, Britton has bounced back quickly from blowing his first save in nearly two years. In three appearances since, the ace closer has yielded two hits and a walk over four scoreless innings.
Aug. 30 4:56 PM PT5:56 PM MT6:56 PM CT7:56 PM ET19:56 ET23:56 GMT7:56 4:56 PM MST6:56 PM EST7:26 PM VEN3:56 UAE (+1)6:56 PM CT-Zach Britton recorded his 13th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Seattle Mariners 8-7 on Wednesday. Britton struck out one, ending the game with a 3.29 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 7:30 PM PT8:30 PM MT9:30 PM CT10:30 PM ET22:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 PM MST9:30 PM EST10:00 PM VEN6:30 UAE (+1)9:30 PM CT-Zach Britton recorded his 12th save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Seattle Mariners 7-6 on Monday. Britton struck out one, ending the game with a 3.42 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 27 2:52 PM PT3:52 PM MT4:52 PM CT5:52 PM ET17:52 ET21:52 GMT5:52 2:52 PM MST4:52 PM EST5:22 PM VEN1:52 UAE (+1)4:52 PM CT-Britton tested out his left knee in the bullpen Sunday after his precautionary MRI exam Thursday.
Analysis: Britton's first blown save since Sept. 20, 2015, came in his last outing Wednesday, ending an AL-record streak of 60 consecutive conversions.
Aug. 23 6:51 PM PT7:51 PM MT8:51 PM CT9:51 PM ET21:51 ET1:51 GMT9:51 6:51 PM MST8:51 PM EST9:21 PM VEN5:51 UAE (+1)8:51 PM CT-Zach Britton blew his first save, allowing two runs on three hits and one walk in 0.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Oakland Athletics 8-7 on Wednesday. Britton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.55 ERA and 1.74 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: It's Britton's first blown save since Sept. 20, 2015, ending an AL-record streak of 60 consecutive conversions, and it came on the two-year anniversary of his last blown save at home. It also may have been a result one could see coming, as the left-hander hasn't been quite the same since returning from a forearm strain in early July. He now has a 4.96 ERA and 1.71 WHIP in 20 appearances since coming back, and he's also dealing with a knee injury that will require an MRI.
Aug. 21 7:55 PM PT8:55 PM MT9:55 PM CT10:55 PM ET22:55 ET2:55 GMT10:55 7:55 PM MST9:55 PM EST10:25 PM VEN6:55 UAE (+1)9:55 PM CT-Zach Britton recorded his 11th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 0.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Oakland Athletics 7-3 on Monday. Britton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.88 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Britton converted his 60th straight save and has allowed just two runs in 13 2/3 innings at home this season.
Aug. 20 4:13 PM PT5:13 PM MT6:13 PM CT7:13 PM ET19:13 ET23:13 GMT7:13 4:13 PM MST6:13 PM EST6:43 PM VEN3:13 UAE (+1)6:13 PM CT-Zach Britton walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Los Angeles Angels 5-4 on Sunday. Britton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.92 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 5:33 PM PT6:33 PM MT7:33 PM CT8:33 PM ET20:33 ET0:33 GMT8:33 5:33 PM MST7:33 PM EST8:03 PM VEN4:33 UAE (+1)7:33 PM CT-Zach Britton allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Seattle Mariners 7-6 on Wednesday. Britton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.04 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 6:32 PM PT7:32 PM MT8:32 PM CT9:32 PM ET21:32 ET1:32 GMT9:32 6:32 PM MST8:32 PM EST9:02 PM VEN5:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-Zach Britton allowed one run on one hit in 0.1 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Oakland Athletics 9-3 on Sunday. Britton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.18 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Britton surrendered his first home run of the season and just his second in his last 89 2/3 innings.
Aug. 11 7:48 AM PT8:48 AM MT9:48 AM CT10:48 AM ET10:48 ET14:48 GMT22:48 7:48 AM MST9:48 AM EST10:18 AM VEN18:48 UAE9:48 AM CT-Zach Britton recorded his 10th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 0.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Oakland Athletics 7-2 on Thursday. Britton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.82 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 5:03 PM PT6:03 PM MT7:03 PM CT8:03 PM ET20:03 ET0:03 GMT8:03 5:03 PM MST7:03 PM EST7:33 PM VEN4:03 UAE (+1)7:03 PM CT-Zach Britton walked two and didn't allow a hit in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Los Angeles Angels 5-1 on Wednesday. Britton struck out two, ending the game with a 2.86 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 8:15 PM PT9:15 PM MT10:15 PM CT11:15 PM ET23:15 ET3:15 GMT11:15 8:15 PM MST10:15 PM EST10:45 PM VEN7:15 UAE (+1)10:15 PM CT-Zach Britton recorded his ninth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Detroit Tigers 5-2 on Saturday. Britton struck out one, ending the game with a 2.95 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Britton extended his AL-record saves streak to 58 and perhaps more importantly, worked more than an inning for the first time since opening day. The lock-down closer seems to have put his previous injury issues fully behind.
July 31 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-Zach Britton improved to 1-0, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Kansas City Royals 2-1 on Monday. Britton struck out one, ending the game with a 3.15 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
July 30 6:03 PM PT7:03 PM MT8:03 PM CT9:03 PM ET21:03 ET1:03 GMT9:03 6:03 PM MST8:03 PM EST8:33 PM VEN5:03 UAE (+1)8:03 PM CT-Zach Britton recorded his eighth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 0.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Texas Rangers 10-6 on Sunday. Britton struck out one, ending the game with a 3.32 ERA and 1.74 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Britton, whose name continues to swirl in trade rumors, converted his AL-record 57th consecutive save.
July 30 9:24 AM PT10:24 AM MT11:24 AM CT12:24 PM ET12:24 ET16:24 GMT0:24 9:24 AM MST11:24 AM EST11:54 AM VEN20:24 UAE11:24 AM CT-Zach Britton recorded his seventh save, allowing no runs on no hits in 0.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Texas Rangers 4-0 on Saturday. Britton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.44 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.
July 26 12:46 PM PT1:46 PM MT2:46 PM CT3:46 PM ET15:46 ET19:46 GMT3:46 12:46 PM MST2:46 PM EST3:16 PM VEN23:46 UAE2:46 PM CT-Zach Britton allowed two runs on three hits in 1.0 inning as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-1 on Wednesday. Britton struck out one, ending the game with a 3.50 ERA and 1.83 WHIP on the season.
July 23 4:03 PM PT5:03 PM MT6:03 PM CT7:03 PM ET19:03 ET23:03 GMT7:03 4:03 PM MST6:03 PM EST6:33 PM VEN3:03 UAE (+1)6:03 PM CT-Zach Britton recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Houston Astros 9-7 on Sunday. Britton struck out two, ending the game with a 2.65 ERA and 1.76 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Britton set the AL record by converting his 55th straight save opportunity, breaking the mark held by Tom Gordon, who notched 54 straight saves with Boston from 1998-99. Britton started his run on Oct. 1, 2015, added 47 in a row last season and is 6 for 6 this year.
July 20 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)10:03 PM CT-Zach Britton allowed two runs on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Texas Rangers 9-7 on Thursday. Britton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.81 ERA and 1.81 WHIP on the season.
July 18 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)9:36 PM CT-Zach Britton allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Texas Rangers 12-1 on Tuesday. Britton struck out two, ending the game with a 1.80 ERA and 1.73 WHIP on the season.
July 16 2:48 PM PT3:48 PM MT4:48 PM CT5:48 PM ET17:48 ET21:48 GMT5:48 2:48 PM MST4:48 PM EST5:18 PM VEN1:48 UAE (+1)4:48 PM CT-Zach Britton allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Chicago Cubs 8-0 on Sunday. Britton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.93 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
July 14 8:56 PM PT9:56 PM MT10:56 PM CT11:56 PM ET23:56 ET3:56 GMT11:56 8:56 PM MST10:56 PM EST11:26 PM VEN7:56 UAE (+1)10:56 PM CT-Zach Britton allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Chicago Cubs 9-8 on Friday. Britton struck out one, ending the game with a 2.08 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
July 9 5:20 PM PT6:20 PM MT7:20 PM CT8:20 PM ET20:20 ET0:20 GMT8:20 5:20 PM MST7:20 PM EST7:50 PM VEN4:20 UAE (+1)7:20 PM CT-Zach Britton did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Minnesota Twins 11-5 on Sunday. Britton struck out one, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 1.75 WHIP on the season.
July 8 9:05 PM PT10:05 PM MT11:05 PM CT12:05 AM ET0:05 ET4:05 GMT12:05 9:05 PM MST11:05 PM EST11:35 PM VEN8:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-Zach Britton allowed two runs on three hits in 1.0 inning as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Minnesota Twins 9-6 on Friday. Britton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.45 ERA and 1.91 WHIP on the season.
May 5 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-Britton has been activated for the 60-day DL and allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in one inning at Milwaukee on Wednesday.
Analysis: Britton went on the disabled list a second time in early May with a left forearm strain. The left-hander is 5 for 5 in save opportunities with a 1.00 ERA. He has converted 54 save opportunities in a row, tied for second-most since the save became an official statistic in 1969.
May 5 8:39 AM PT9:39 AM MT10:39 AM CT11:39 AM ET11:39 ET15:39 GMT23:39 8:39 AM MST10:39 AM EST11:09 AM VEN19:39 UAE10:39 AM CT-Zach Britton allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Boston Red Sox 8-3 on Thursday.
Analysis: Britton struck out one, ending the game with a 1.00 ERA and 1.78 WHIP on the season.
May 2 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)9:12 PM CT-Zach Britton allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Boston Red Sox 5-2 on Tuesday. Britton did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.13 ERA and 1.88 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Britton worked one scoreless innings after he was activated off the disabled list earlier Tuesday. He didn't actually retire any betters, putting the first two on before a pop up that fell in turned into a wacky triple play.
Apr. 16 9:40 AM PT10:40 AM MT11:40 AM CT12:40 PM ET12:40 ET16:40 GMT0:40 9:40 AM MST11:40 AM EST12:10 PM VEN20:40 UAE11:40 AM CT-Britton (strained left forearm) has been activated from the 10-day disabled list and will be available for Tuesday's game in Boston.
Analysis: Though he's managed to keep his consecutive saves streak ongoing, Britton hasn't been quite as dominant as usual. The standout closer was touched for a run and three hits in the ninth inning of his last appearance April 14, and he's allowed 13 baserunners in seven innings.
Apr. 15 9:11 PM PT10:11 PM MT11:11 PM CT12:11 AM ET0:11 ET4:11 GMT12:11 9:11 PM MST11:11 PM EST11:41 PM VEN8:11 UAE11:11 PM CT-Britton struck out former teammate Steve Pearce with runners at first and second to earn his fifth save on Friday.
Analysis: Britton matched Tom Gordon by converting his 54th consecutive opportunity, the second-longest streak ever. The record belongs to Eric Gagne (84).
Apr. 14 10:13 AM PT11:13 AM MT12:13 PM CT1:13 PM ET13:13 ET17:13 GMT1:13 10:13 AM MST12:13 PM EST12:43 PM VEN21:13 UAE12:13 PM CT-Britton worked out of a ninth-inning jam to close out the Orioles' 2-1 victory at Toronto on Thursday and extend his streak of consecutive save conversions to 53.
Analysis: Britton did make it interesting by allowing a one-out single and a walk and then uncorking a wild pitch to put the tying run on third. He got Kevin Pillar to ground out without advancing the runner, however, before finishing off his fourth save of the young season. Though the standout closer owns a 1.67 WHIP thus far, he's yet to allow a run in six innings.
Apr. 7 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)10:09 PM CT-Britton worked a perfect ninth Friday for his second save of the season and 51st in a row.
Analysis: Britton's run of 51 consecutive saves represents the fifth-longest streak since the stat became official in 1969. It’s the longest active streak in the majors.
Apr. 5 7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)9:10 PM CT-It wasn't easy but Britton locked up his 50th straight save with a scoreless ninth Wednesday against Toronto.
Analysis: Britton, who hasn't blown a save since 2015, has worked three scoreless innings in two games, but has allowed five hits and two walks with two strikeouts. The 50 converted saves in a row represent the fifth-longest streak since the stat became official in 1969. It’s the longest active streak in the majors.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2011 Bal 11 11 0 - 0 28 28 0 154.1 162 93 79 12 62 3 97 1.45 4.61
2012 Bal 5 3 0 - 0 12 11 0 60.1 61 37 34 6 32 3 53 1.54 5.07
2013 Bal 2 3 0 - 0 8 7 0 40.0 52 23 22 4 17 1 18 1.73 4.95
2014 Bal 3 2 37 - 41 71 0 0 76.1 46 17 14 4 23 0 62 0.90 1.65
2015 Bal 4 1 36 - 40 64 0 0 65.2 51 16 14 3 14 1 79 0.99 1.92
2016 Bal 2 1 47 - 47 69 0 0 67.0 38 7 4 1 18 3 74 0.84 0.54
2017 Bal 2 1 15 - 17 38 0 0 37.1 39 12 12 1 18 1 29 1.53 2.89
Career 29 22 135 - 145 290 46 0 501.0 449 205 179 31 184 12 412 1.26 3.22

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 Bal 28 8 3 5 1 0 1 2 0 1 0 0 .625 .625 1.125
Career 290 8 3 5 1 0 1 2 0 1 0 0 .625 .625 1.125

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2014 Bal Total 0 0 2 - 2 6 0 0 4.2 5 2 2 0 5 2 5 3.86
    LDS 0 0 2 - 2 3 0 0 2.1 2 1 1 0 1 1 2 3.86
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.1 3 1 1 0 4 1 3 3.86
Career 0 0 2 - 2 6 0 0 4.2 5 2 2 0 5 2 5 3.86


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 556 99 93 95 94.72
Slider 31 86 80 83.5 5.28

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.