FreePlays.com Account Login | Need an account?
FreePlays.com
MLB Baseball
Scoreboard | Matchups | Stats | Standings | Teams | Players | Player News | Injuries | Transactions
#41
Joe Ross
ERA W-L K
5.01 5-3 68
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-4 / 218 NFBC ADP: 233.31
Position: SPBorn: 5/21/1993 Birthplace: Berkeley, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Padres (2011)


Latest News
July 9 12:15 PM PT1:15 PM MT2:15 PM CT3:15 PM ET15:15 ET19:15 GMT3:15 12:15 PM MST2:15 PM EST2:45 PM VEN23:15 UAE2:15 PM CT-Ross left Sunday's game against the Atlanta Braves in the fourth inning with a possible injury. The Nationals do not generally provide injury updates during a game.
Analysis: After Ross got the first batter of the inning, Nick Markakis, to fly to left, pitching coach Mike Maddux came out to the mound and was soon joined by the team trainer. Manager Dusty Baker then came out and Ross was removed in favor of Matt Grace. Ross, whose velocity appeared lower than his norm, allowed three runs on three hits over 3 1/3 innings.
July 4 1:08 PM PT2:08 PM MT3:08 PM CT4:08 PM ET16:08 ET20:08 GMT4:08 1:08 PM MST3:08 PM EST3:38 PM VEN0:08 UAE (+1)3:08 PM CT-Joe Ross improved to 5-3, allowing two runs on eight hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 11-4 on Tuesday. Ross struck out six, ending the game with a 4.86 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Ross put multiple baserunners on in each of the first five innings but managed to escape without much damage. The right-hander has given up just seven earned runs in his last four starts after posting a 6.39 ERA through his first eight.
June 29 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Ross allowed two runs on five hits and three walks in 6.2 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Chicago Cubs 5-4 on Thursday.
Analysis: Ross struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.12 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season. This was a solid effort and something to build on going forward.
June 24 5:02 PM PT6:02 PM MT7:02 PM CT8:02 PM ET20:02 ET0:02 GMT8:02 5:02 PM MST7:02 PM EST7:32 PM VEN4:02 UAE (+1)7:02 PM CT-Joe Ross improved to 4-3, allowing one run on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 18-3 on Saturday. Ross struck out five, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Ross, in his 10th start of the year, received a major league-record 62 runs of support in his first four starts of the year.
June 18 2:37 PM PT3:37 PM MT4:37 PM CT5:37 PM ET17:37 ET21:37 GMT5:37 2:37 PM MST4:37 PM EST5:07 PM VEN1:37 UAE (+1)4:37 PM CT-Joe Ross fell to 3-3, allowing four runs - two earned - on nine hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Mets 5-1 on Sunday. Ross struck out four, ending the game with a 5.98 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
June 13 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)10:24 PM CT-Joe Ross allowed five runs on nine hits and three walks in 5.2 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Atlanta Braves 10-5 on Tuesday. Ross struck out two, ending the game with a 6.39 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Ross is 1-2 with a 7.65 ERA in his last four starts.
June 8 7:41 PM PT8:41 PM MT9:41 PM CT10:41 PM ET22:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Joe Ross improved to 3-2, allowing one run on four hits in 7.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-1 on Thursday. Ross struck out 12, ending the game with a 6.16 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Ross struck out a career-high 12 and completed seven innings for the third time in seven starts. He rebounded after allowing 12 runs over seven innings in his two previous starts.
June 4 8:54 AM PT9:54 AM MT10:54 AM CT11:54 AM ET11:54 ET15:54 GMT23:54 8:54 AM MST10:54 AM EST11:24 AM VEN19:54 UAE10:54 AM CT-Joe Ross fell to 2-2, allowing seven runs - six earned - on six hits and two walks in 3.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Oakland Athletics 10-4 on Saturday. Ross struck out five, ending the game with a 7.34 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Ross, who grew up in Oakland, had a rough homecoming in his first career appearance against the A's. "I was trying to be a bit too fine," Ross said. "I was throwing around the zone and then I had to come in and they hit it."
May 29 10:11 AM PT11:11 AM MT12:11 PM CT1:11 PM ET13:11 ET17:11 GMT1:11 10:11 AM MST12:11 PM EST12:41 PM VEN21:11 UAE12:11 PM CT-Joe Ross fell to 2-1, allowing five runs on 12 hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the San Diego Padres 5-3 on Sunday.
Analysis: Ross, whose fastball dropped from 94 mph to 89 during his outing, has made five starts this year and has a 6.18 ERA.
May 23 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)9:27 PM CT-Joe Ross improved to 2-0, allowing one run on five hits in a career high-tying eight innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Seattle Mariners 10-1 on Tuesday. Ross struck out six, ending the game with a 5.32 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Ross came up from Triple-A and entered the game with a 7.47 ERA in the majors this year. He made three starts earlier this month in the minors. Washington's 62 runs scored over Ross's first four starts is the most support a starter has received over that span in major league history.
Apr. 30 8:48 PM PT9:48 PM MT10:48 PM CT11:48 PM ET23:48 ET3:48 GMT11:48 8:48 PM MST10:48 PM EST11:18 PM VEN7:48 UAE (+1)10:48 PM CT-Joe Ross allowed five runs on seven hits and one walk in 4.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 23-5 on Sunday. Ross struck out five, ending the game with a 7.47 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 2 9:33 AM PT10:33 AM MT11:33 AM CT12:33 PM ET12:33 ET16:33 GMT0:33 9:33 AM MST11:33 AM EST12:03 PM VEN20:33 UAE11:33 AM CT-Ross was optioned to Triple-A Syracuse by Washington.
Analysis: The Nationals do not need a fifth starter right away, so by sending Ross to the minors they have a spot for an extra position player.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Was 5 5 0 - 0 16 13 0 76.2 64 33 31 7 21 0 69 1.11 3.64
2016 Was 7 5 0 - 0 19 19 0 105.0 108 43 40 9 29 3 93 1.30 3.43
2017 Was 5 3 0 - 0 13 13 0 73.2 88 44 41 16 20 2 68 1.47 5.01
Career 17 13 0 - 0 48 45 0 255.1 260 120 112 32 70 5 230 1.29 3.95

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 Was 17 27 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 11 0 0 .111 .143 .111
2016 Was 23 41 2 10 2 0 0 1 3 15 0 0 .244 .295 .293
2017 Was 20 33 1 6 2 0 0 1 1 16 0 0 .182 .206 .242
Career 60 101 5 19 4 0 0 2 4 42 0 0 .188 .226 .228

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2016 Was Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.2 3 4 4 1 2 0 3 13.50
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.2 3 4 4 1 2 0 3 13.50
Career 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.2 3 4 4 1 2 0 3 13.50

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Was Total 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 661 95 86 89.4 54.9
Curveball 37 84 78 80.4 3.07
Slider 410 89 82 83.9 34.05
Changeup 96 89 82 85 7.97

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.